LINDAS BOOK OBSESSION REVIEW OF ” THE CHESAPEAKE BRIDE” BY MARIAH STEWART BLOG TOUR

No comments

 

MY REVIEW OF “THE CHESAPEAKE BRIDE’  A Novel by MARIAH STEWART

 

I enjoyed the charming and delightful novel, “The Chesapeake Bride” by Mariah Stewart. The genres for this novel are Romance and Women’s Fiction.

 

I love the way Mariah Stewart describes the charming setting and town on the Chesapeake Bay, in the Cannonball Island. The artistic feel of the houses, the restaurants, the hotel, and the stores are so appealing.  Whether you are clamming, or sailing on a ship, or just relaxing and having tea with home baked delicacies, there is a homey and comforting feel. The old homes are part of this Island, and have tremendous history.

 

The author describes her characters as complex and complicated. Some of the older seasoned characters have memories of the townsfolk that goes back many years. Cassidy Logan is an architect that is working for her father’s big company, and has plans to rebuild the falling down homes and use as much as she can of the materials in her new homes in this historic area. Cassidy wants to preserve the historic feel and preserve the previous family history.   Owen Parker, considered an adventurer and “player” is back at home by the Chesapeake Bay to help his one hundred years old grandmother, who runs the country store. Owen is also looking at the Chesapeake Bay for sunken ships found at the bottom, to determine the historical finds, and dive to retrieve many things.

 

Owen’s and the other divers have found enough to put a stop to Cassidy’s work temporarily. Cassidy has to find other alternatives to make this work.

There are a cast of colorful and quirky characters. Cassidy and Owen work closely professionally and sparks seem to fly.  On this small island, people are very hospitable.

 

I appreciate the way the author writes about the importance of family, friendships, loyalty, love and hope. There are some twists and turns and secrets in this novel. This novel is part of a series, but can stand alone.  I was captivated by the charm and story by the author and would highly recommend this book to readers who enjoy Romance and Fiction. I received a copy of this book for my honest review. This novel is part of a blog tour for Mariah Stewart.

ABOUT THE BOOK:

New York Times bestselling author Mariah Stewart returns to the cherished Maryland shores of St. Dennis with THE CHESAPEAKE BRIDE (Pocket Books; August 29, 2017; $7.99), the charming story of a jaded architect who meets the one man who could finally melt her heart—if she’s willing to let him in.

Cassidy Logan has sworn off good-looking adventurers, having just divorced the one she’d married. Now working with her father’s construction company to build ecologically friendly, historically accurate homes on the Chesapeake Bay, she’s designing them for Cannonball Island. Knowing there’s been no new construction on the island in almost one hundred years, Cass is sensitive to the heritage and history of the sparsely populated island, and has come up with plans so perfect she’s determined to buy one for herself to live in. Even the fact that Owen Parker—whom she dismisses as a lightweight and a player— seems to be everywhere she goes isn’t enough to deter her from building her dream house.

Owen is and always has been sinfully handsome and wickedly clever, a magnet for mischief as well as the girls in St. Dennis. He’s also a rolling stone, going and doing whatever appeals to him, from flying a mail plane in Alaska to working on a cattle ranch in Australia and a shrimp boat in Louisiana, to surfing and diving in Costa Rica. When an old friend offers him a job salvaging a sunken ship in the Chesapeake, Owen gladly accepts. Something’s been telling him it’s about time to head home to Cannonball Island, and a job is as good an excuse as any. He’s totally smitten with the pretty architect, but it seems he’s finally met a woman who’s immune to his charms. Sooner or later, Owen will have to face the reason why he always runs, because this time, leaving just might be harder than staying.

ABOUT THE AUTHOR:

Mariah Stewart is the award-winning New York Times and USA Todaybestselling author of numerous novels and several novellas and short stories.  A native of Hightstown, New Jersey, she lives with her husband and two rambunctious rescue dogs amid the rolling hills of Chester County, Pennsylvania, where she savors country life and tends her gardens.  Visit her website at mariahstewart.com, like her on Facebook at AuthorMariahStewart, and follow her on Instagram at mariah_stewart_books.

 

END OF SUMMER GIVEAWAY:

We’re celebrating The Chesapeake Bride and Summer 2017 with one giveaway for Driftwood Point, 10th  in The Chesapeake Diaries Series by Mariah Stewart! The last day for entries will be Friday, September 22nd (the official last day of summer!) The winner will receive one copy of Driftwood Point. U.S. only, please. You can enter at the participating blogs listed below – but you can only win once!

 

NOTE FOR THE NEW YEAR:

Look for Gallery Books’ second installment in Mariah Stewart’s all-new trade original women’s fiction series, The Hudson Sisters, following a trio of reluctant sisters as they set out to fulfill their father’s dying wish—and discover themselves in the process. Book 2, The Sugarhouse Blues, will publish March 2018!

BLOG TOUR SCHEDULE:

 

AUGUST 28

USA TODAY’S HAPPY EVER AFTEREXCERPT

 

AUGUST 29

A MIDLIFE WIFE

ROMANCING THE READERS

AUGUST 30

THE LIBRARIAN TALKSQ&A

BOOK BITCH

ABIGAIL BOOKS ADDICTION

MY NOVELESQUE LIFE

AUGUST 31

DIRTY AND THIRTY

BOOK MAMA BLOG

SUZY APPROVED BOOK REVIEWS

COLLECTORS OF BOOK BOYFRIENDS

SEPTEMBER 1

SOS ALOHA

MARGIE’S MUST READS

PACIFIC NORTHWEST BOOKWORM

 

SEPTEMBER 4

READING BETWEEN THE WINES

 

SEPTEMBER 5

FRESH FICTIONARTICLE

SVETLANA’S READS AND VIEWS

BIBLIOTICA

MRS LEIF’S TWO FANGS ABOUT IT

SEPTEMBER 6

READ YOUR WRITES

REVIEWS BY CRYSTAL

BRAINFARTS AND BOOKS

SEPTEMBER 7

JOJO THE BOOKAHOLIC

LORI’S READING CORNER

HAPPYMOMBLOGGER’S BLOG

HARDLY A GODDESS

SEPTEMBER 8

READING FRENZY BLOG

THOUGHTS IN PROGRESS

DIVATUDE

SEPTEMBER 11

TIFFANY DAVIS

 

SEPTEMBER 12

SATISFACTION FOR INSATIABLE READERS

LINDA’S BOOK OBSESSION

SEPTEMBER 13

KATHERINE’S BOOK UNIVERSEQ&A

BOOKTALK WITH EILEEN

REVIEWS FROM THE HEART

KT BOOK REVIEWS

SHANNON’S BOOK BLOG

BIGREADERSITE’S BLOG

GRANNY LOVES TO READ!

SEPTEMBER 14

SCANDALICIOUS BOOK REVIEWS

ITCHING FOR BOOKS

COMMUNITY BOOKSTOP

BOOKS TO CURL UP WITH

SEPTEMBER 15

ROMANTIC READS AND SUCH

SUSIEQLAW’S BLOG

DEVILISHLY DELICIOUS BOOK REVIEWS

BOOKFAN

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s