Linda’s Book Obsession Reviews “The Moonshiner’s Daughter” by Donna Everhart, Kensington, December 31, 2019,

3 comments
  1. D9B61B21-4C3E-478C-81E8-24F75570DB9B_1_201_aLinda’s Book Obsession Reviews “THE MOONSHINER’S DAUGHTER” by Donna Everhart, Kensington,

WOW! Donna Everhart, author of “THE MOONSHINER’S DAUGHTER” has written a captivating, intriguing, riveting, enthralling and thought-provoking novel. The Genres for this novel are Domestic Fiction, Coming of Age Fiction, and Historical Fiction. The novel takes place in the mountains of North Carolina. The timeline for the story is 1960 and goes to the past when it pertains to the characters or events. The author describes her dramatic and colorful characters as complex,  and complicated. This is a coming of age novel, and also deals with the history of Moonshine. There are betrayals, revenge, vandalism, and murder.

I appreciate Donna Everhart’s storytelling and vivid descriptions of her characters and landscape. Jessie Sasser was very young when her mother was killed. Her father refuses to talk about her death, and Jessie is determined to find out the details.  Jessie is 16 years old in this story and is aware of the Moonshining her father and his family has done for years.

I appreciate that Donna Everhart discusses eating disorders, and how that affects her character. Jessie has a major eating disorder. The lifestyle is very hard for Jessie and her brother.

This reminds me of the Hatfield and McCoys, and the feud that they had for years. In North Carolina, the Sasser and another family are fighting over selling Moonshine, and the tills. There is always danger!! I would highly recommend this captivating novel for those readers who enjoy Historical Fiction, and Coming of Age Novels!

 

3 comments on “Linda’s Book Obsession Reviews “The Moonshiner’s Daughter” by Donna Everhart, Kensington, December 31, 2019,”

Leave a Reply to lindasbookobsession Cancel reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s