Linda’s Book Obsession Reviews “Shadow Life” by Michael Decter, Cormorant Books, 2022, On tour with Suzy Approved Book Tours

No comments

Michael Decter, the author of “Shadow Life” has written an intriguing fictional novel. The locations in the story are Sydney, Boston, and Dublin. The timeline for the story is set in the present and goes to the past regarding the characters and events. The author describes his characters as complex and complicated. The protagonist, 60-year-old Matthew Rice’s world collapse after the jury he was on frees a man that goes on to kill again. Suffering guilt, anxiety, anger, and depression, Matthew retreats to Quarry Island in Georgia Bay, where he plans to both recover and escape.

Matthew escapes injury and death in the rough waters by the island. When he is back at shore, he realizes that he lost his wallet. Matthew now starts a new journey to discover who he really is. He discovers some problems with the birth certificate that he needs to get, and realizes that he has to discover who he is, and who is family is.Matthew has to leave the island and starts an adventure that will change his life forever. The author discusses the importance of finding yourself, your family, friendship, and hope.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s