WEEKEND GIVEAWAY: Author Jen Gilroy IS GIVING TWO SIGNED BOOKS(Winner’s Choice) and $15 Gift card to DD or Starbucks. Go to Lindas Book Obsession on my FB page. 1.Like Lindas Book Obsession on FB. 2. Like this post 3. Share USA ends 10/4/17

No comments

WEEKEND GIVEAWAY ON LINDAS BOOK OBSESSION ON FB. TWO SIGNED COPIES OF EITHER “THE COTTAGE AT FIREFLY LAKE” OR “SUMMER ON FIREFLY LAKE” BY AUTHOR JEN GILROY. Also there will be a $15 DD or Starbucks gift card. Enter on Lindas Book Obsession on my FB page. 1. Like LINDAS BOOK OBSESSION.  2 Like this post.  3. Share this post. USA unit 10/4/17

Please feel free to visit Jen Gilroy’s Author Page on FB. Look for an interview with Jen Gilroy.

Please look at my reviews below.

 

 

My Review of “Summer on Firefly Lake” by Jen Gilroy

Kudos to Jen Gilroy, author of “Summer on Firefly Lake” for writing such a delightful, emotional, and engaging feel good novel. I am an emotional person, and I do shed happy or sad tears, and I did need some Kleenex. (Happy tears)

This is novel that comes after “The Cottage at Firefly Lake”. I have read both, but “Summer on Firefly Lake” can be read alone. The Genres of this novel are Women’s Fiction, Romance, and Contemporary. The timeline in this story is set in the present and only returns to the past for an explanation for the characters or events in the story.

The author describes her characters as everyday people, that could be our neighbors, with problems and secrets. Some of the characters are complicated and complex. Mia Gibbs is finalizing her divorce and with her daughters live in Firefly Lake. While Mia is renovating the house she bought, she is living , working and helping Attorney and friend, Nick McGuires’ mother put her house in order. Nick’s mother is in remission after having treatment for cancer, and Nick would like his mother to downsize and move to a smaller house. Nick and Mia have been friends. Could there be more to this relationship? In this book, we get to meet some colorful and likable characters.

I appreciate that the author writes about relevant topics such as cancer, foster children, spousal abuse, and elder care. The author also describes the importance of family, friendship, honesty, loyalty, courage, forgiveness, giving second chances, love and hope.

I would recommend this book highly for readers of Women’s Fiction, Romance and feel good stories. I really found this book to be captivating and enjoyable. Happy Reading!

Review

 

My REVIEW OF “THE COTTAGE AT FIREFLY LAKE” by JEN GILROY

“The Cottage at Firefly Lake” by Jen Gilroy is such an enjoyable, and delightful read! The timeline of the story is in the present with references to the past only when it relates to the characters or events. The Genres for this novel are Fiction, Women’s Fiction, and Romance. The author describes the cottages, the town , the people and the lake, and I feel like taking a drive just to vacation and relax by the water.

Jen Gilroy’s descriptions of her characters  remind me of people that could live next door, or in my community. Some of the characters are complex and complicated, but they feel so real. Characters that make mistakes, have secrets, and work hard to get to their goals in life. In the blurb to the story it states,” Some mistakes can never be fixed and some secrets never forgiven…..but some loves can never be forgotten.”

Charlotte Gibbs and her sister Mia and her nieces come back to Firefly Lake to sell the cottage and land that has been in their family for years. Charlotte is a successful journalist, that has provided stories from around the world, many in war zones. The Gibbs family has owned the cottage for many years, and every summer would come out to enjoy living in the cottage and the lake.
Sean Carmichael  and his twin brother build boats, and have a family marina. Sean is divorced, and hopes his teenage son will one day take over the business.
Charlotte and Sean had been very close for many years, and  Charlotte left breaking things off suddenly with Sean. and without an explanation.

If the Gibbs sell the cottage and land, it could create a big problem for Sean and the rest of the community. Not only that, has Sean ever gotten over Charlie??

I love the way the author describes family, friends, loyalty, love, and hope.

I highly recommend this novel to those readers who  enjoy reading Women’s fiction, and Romantic Novels. I can’t wait to read Jen Gilroy’s next book! Happy Reading!!!
(less)                                                               

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s