My Review of “Last Christmas in Paris” by Hazel Gaynor and Heather Webb

2 comments

image

MY REVIEW OF “LAST CHRISTMAS IN PARIS’ by Hazel Gaynor and Heather Webb
WOW! Can you imagine reading a book about “The Great War” World War 1, and not only absorb the devastation, emotional and physical distress of both the men and women involved, and yet feel the love, friendship, faith and hope?
 Authors Hazel Gaynor and Heather Webb have teamed up to write “Last Christmas in Paris”. The Genres of this book are Historical Fiction and Women’s Fiction. with a dash of Romance. The timeline of this novel takes place during World War 1, a few years after and then in 1968. The story takes place in England, France, Paris and Scotland.
I appreciate the authors’ historical research to clarify the details during the war and this time period in history and the political events surrounding this.
The authors describe the characters’  personalities, and how they change during these complex and complicated times. Evie Elliott, a headstrong and determined young women watches her brother Will and his friend Tom Harding leave for the front, they all believe that the war will be over be Christmas. They make a promise to meet in Paris for Christmas.
The authors show through eloquent letters, how this promise is not to be for now. The descriptions through these letters depict a despicable war, the weapons, the destruction and loss, and conditions, The morale of the men is at an all time low, as the war goes on, and they depend on these letters as a lifeline of sorts.
The women in England try to do their part by knitting, sending packages and letters. For Evie, this is not enough. Using a pen name she writes a column in the newspaper, describing how bad the circumstances are for the men and women, and what the women can do to be helpful.
Evie and Thomas do keep a correspondence through writing , and each seems to find it difficult to express their true feelings of love. Is it possible for love to endure the circumstances of war?
I found “Last Christmas in Paris” to be engaging and captivating and I would highly recommend it for readers who enjoy Historical Fiction, Women’s Fiction and Romance. I received a copy of this book for my honest review.

2 comments on “My Review of “Last Christmas in Paris” by Hazel Gaynor and Heather Webb”

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s