Linda’s Book Obsession Reviews “Sunday Best” by Ann Lineberger , Part of Suzy Approved Book Tours

No comments

fullsizeoutput_34f8

fullsizeoutput_3838

About The Book: 

Release Date : September 21, 2018

What happens when journalists go undercover to investigate a sex club linked to the murder of their employer, and they discover their mother may have ties to it? SUNDAY BEST (September 21, 2018), an engaging comic mystery by Ann Lineberger, explores the lengths people will go to indulge their fantasies while preserving their secrets.
When publishing mogul Walter Bloom is grotesquely murdered in the postcard-perfect Connecticut town of Longshore, his brother and business partner, Charles, is determined to discover who is responsible. Walter had a public history of sexual harassment and a private involvement with sex clubs. Charles is convinced Walter’s murder is related. He enlists the help of his employees—sisters Lauren Mark and Brooke Edwards, Jackie Hunt, and Darren Nottingham—to infiltrate the Swingers’ groups Walter favored. Together they discover a comically warped and perverse subculture that is eerily connected to the alternative Unify church that Lauren and Brooke’s clairvoyant mother founded in their youth.
Laced with humor and biting social commentary, SUNDAY BEST is an inventive and absorbing novel that offers a satirical glance into the world of sex clubs and alternative religions as a study of the selling of hope in contemporary America.
Fans of Liane Moriarty’s Big Little Lies and Gillian Flynn’s Sharp Objects will find an intriguing mystery that combines female-driven detective work, tantalizing behind closed-door reveals, and the exploration of female aggression uniquely balanced by a cast of endearingly flawed characters and mystical escapades and near misses that will resonate with fans of Daryl Gregory’s Spoonbenders.
About The Author:

Ann Lineberger is the author of The Adjustments (Full Fathom Five Digital, 2016) and New Spaces, Old World Charm (McGraw-Hill, 2004). Ann has worked as a reporter, editor, and writer for numerous publications, including Fortune, Entertainment Weekly, Cottages & Gardens, and Home Remodeling. She earned a master’s degree in journalism and mass communication from New York University and an associate’s degree from the New York School of Interior Design. Her independent studies program undergraduate degree is from Providence College. She enjoys spending time with her family, yoga, running, photography, and escaping to Maine in the summers. In addition to writing, Ann is an interior designer and home stager. She lives in Connecticut with her husband, two daughters, and two very silly dogs.

Contact the Author : 

Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/15052095.Ann_Lineberger

Facebook : https://m.facebook.com/AnnLinebergerAuthor/

Instagram: https://instagram.com/ann.lineberger.author

Twitter : @AnnLineberger

 

fullsizeoutput_3838

 

Lindas Book Obsession Reviews “Sunday Best” by Ann Lineberger

Ann Lineberger, Author of “Sunday best” has written  a unique, intriguing, intense, captivating, suspenseful and entertaining novel. The Genres for this novel are Fiction, Mystery and Suspense, Satire, and Dark Humor. The timeline for this story takes place in the present and past when it pertains to the characters or events in this story.  The author’s unusual, dysfunctional and quirky characters are described as complex and complicated.

Charles Bloom gets his staff, and detectives together to find out who murdered his brother Walter. The only things Walter seemed to love were food and sex clubs. Charles has his journalists investigate the variety of sex clubs that Walter did frequent. His murder seems to remind the community of a young woman killed in the same manner twenty-eight years before. Lauren Marks and Brooke Edwards, are sisters that work for Charles and are used to unusual activity. Their mother was a founder of a Unity Church and also claimed to be a clairvoyant. Now she is a famous clairvoyant, with all kinds of crystals being sold on QVC.

What do the Unity Church and sex clubs have in common? Why do clues keep leading to the same people? The author seems to be making a statement through her wit, and satire. I appreciate that the author writes about the greed, jealousy, aggression and unhappiness of the  characters.  This is a thought-provoking novel that makes you thing about what should provide happiness, love, and hope. I would recommend this novel for those readers who entire satire and mystery.

 

 

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s