THE CHESAPEAKE BRIDE by MARIAH STEWART BLOG TOUR! Lindas Book Obsession Review of “The Chesapeake Bride” by Mariah Stewart. SEPTEMBER 12,2017

5 comments

 

  • THE CHESAPEAKE BRIDE

    11th in The Chesapeake Diaries series

    Mariah Stewart

    Pocket Books

    August 29, 2017

    ISBN 9781501154355

    $7.99

    Praise for The Chesapeake Bride, Book 11 in The Chesapeake Diaries:

    “Stewart succeeds in giving both Owen and Cass a smooth blend of strength and vulnerability, and the setting of this heartwarming romance will draw readers in with its island-life charm.”

    —Publishers Weekly

    “The Chesapeake Bride is a small-town romance which will leave readers wanting more of the charming characters and unforgettable story. I enjoyed this book so much that I am still running some of the scenes through my head, which shows how fantastic the story is. Another great read by an outstanding author. A Recommended Read!”

    —Romance Junkies, Five Heart Review

     

    “The romance is slow and sweet…the lack of unnecessary melodrama, angst, and over-the-top gestures makes this a refreshing contemporary romance between two adults who act as such.”

    —Kirkus Reviews

     

    Praise for Driftwood Point, Book 10 in The Chesapeake Diaries:

    “This second-chance-at-love romance is gentle and sweet…The colorful friendship between the family matriarchs…charms. Stewart seamlessly checks in with former series protagonists and introduces future romantic pairings without stealing attention from Lisbeth and Alec.”

    —RT Book Reviews

     

    Praise for That Chesapeake Summer, Book 9 in The Chesapeake Diaries:

    “[That Chesapeake Summer] deftly uses the tools of the genre to explore issues of identity, truth, and small town kinship…Stewartoffers a strong statement on the power of love and trust, a fitting theme for this big-hearted small town romance.”

    —Publishers Weekly

     

    “A touching story of self-discovery and homecoming that is sure to warm readers’ hearts…fans are sure to feel right at home in Stewart’s idyllic seaside setting and follow this emotional journey with avid interest.”

    RT Book Reviews

     

    Praise for The Last Chance Matinee, Book One in The Hudson Sisters Series:

    “The popcorn, the red velvet seats, the glittering Hollywood stars on-screen…I’ve enjoyed all aspects of going to the movies since I was a kid…so when I saw a vintage theater on the cover of this book, I quickly swiped it up…The tale was a sweet reminder of the importance of family. I can’t wait for the next book in this series!”

    —First for Women magazine, July 2017

     

    “[This] lively, warmhearted series starter will have readers eagerly awaiting the second installment.”

    —Booklist

     

    “A good read, with a nice blend of mystery, family drama, and romance.”

    —Library Journal

     

    ABOUT THE BOOK:

    New York Times bestselling author Mariah Stewart returns to the cherished Maryland shores of St. Dennis with THE CHESAPEAKE BRIDE (Pocket Books; August 29, 2017; $7.99), the charming story of a jaded architect who meets the one man who could finally melt her heart—if she’s willing to let him in.

    Cassidy Logan has sworn off good-looking adventurers, having just divorced the one she’d married. Now working with her father’s construction company to build ecologically friendly, historically accurate homes on the Chesapeake Bay, she’s designing them for Cannonball Island. Knowing there’s been no new construction on the island in almost one hundred years, Cass is sensitive to the heritage and history of the sparsely populated island, and has come up with plans so perfect she’s determined to buy one for herself to live in. Even the fact that Owen Parker—whom she dismisses as a lightweight and a player— seems to be everywhere she goes isn’t enough to deter her from building her dream house.

    Owen is and always has been sinfully handsome and wickedly clever, a magnet for mischief as well as the girls in St. Dennis. He’s also a rolling stone, going and doing whatever appeals to him, from flying a mail plane in Alaska to working on a cattle ranch in Australia and a shrimp boat in Louisiana, to surfing and diving in Costa Rica. When an old friend offers him a job salvaging a sunken ship in the Chesapeake, Owen gladly accepts. Something’s been telling him it’s about time to head home to Cannonball Island, and a job is as good an excuse as any. He’s totally smitten with the pretty architect, but it seems he’s finally met a woman who’s immune to his charms. Sooner or later, Owen will have to face the reason why he always runs, because this time, leaving just might be harder than staying.

    ABOUT THE AUTHOR:

    Mariah Stewart is the award-winning New York Times and USA Todaybestselling author of numerous novels and several novellas and short stories.  A native of Hightstown, New Jersey, she lives with her husband and two rambunctious rescue dogs amid the rolling hills of Chester County, Pennsylvania, where she savors country life and tends her gardens.  Visit her website at mariahstewart.com, like her on Facebook at AuthorMariahStewart, and follow her on Instagram at mariah_stewart_books.

    END OF SUMMER GIVEAWAY:

    We’re celebrating The Chesapeake Bride and Summer 2017 with one giveaway for Driftwood Point, 10th  in The Chesapeake Diaries Series by Mariah Stewart! The last day for entries will be Friday, September 22nd (the official last day of summer!) The winner will receive one copy of Driftwood Point. U.S. only, please. You can enter at the participating blogs listed below – but you can only win once!

     

    NOTE FOR THE NEW YEAR:

    Look for Gallery Books’ second installment in Mariah Stewart’s all-new trade original women’s fiction series, The Hudson Sisters, following a trio of reluctant sisters as they set out to fulfill their father’s dying wish—and discover themselves in the process. Book 2, The Sugarhouse Blues, will publish March 2018!

    BLOG TOUR SCHEDULE:

     

    AUGUST 28

    USA TODAY’S HAPPY EVER AFTEREXCERPT

     

    AUGUST 29

    A MIDLIFE WIFE

    ROMANCING THE READERS

    AUGUST 30

    THE LIBRARIAN TALKSQ&A

    BOOK BITCH

    ABIGAIL BOOKS ADDICTION

    MY NOVELESQUE LIFE

    AUGUST 31

    DIRTY AND THIRTY

    BOOK MAMA BLOG

    SUZY APPROVED BOOK REVIEWS

    COLLECTORS OF BOOK BOYFRIENDS

    SEPTEMBER 1

    SOS ALOHA

    MARGIE’S MUST READS

    PACIFIC NORTHWEST BOOKWORM

     

    SEPTEMBER 4

    READING BETWEEN THE WINES

     

    SEPTEMBER 5

    FRESH FICTIONARTICLE

    SVETLANA’S READS AND VIEWS

    BIBLIOTICA

    MRS LEIF’S TWO FANGS ABOUT IT

    SEPTEMBER 6

    READ YOUR WRITES

    REVIEWS BY CRYSTAL

    BRAINFARTS AND BOOKS

    SEPTEMBER 7

    JOJO THE BOOKAHOLIC

    LORI’S READING CORNER

    HAPPYMOMBLOGGER’S BLOG

    HARDLY A GODDESS

    SEPTEMBER 8

    READING FRENZY BLOG

    THOUGHTS IN PROGRESS

    DIVATUDE

    SEPTEMBER 11

    TIFFANY DAVIS

     

    SEPTEMBER 12

    SATISFACTION FOR INSATIABLE READERS

    LINDA’S BOOK OBSESSION

    SEPTEMBER 13

    KATHERINE’S BOOK UNIVERSEQ&A

    BOOKTALK WITH EILEEN

    REVIEWS FROM THE HEART

    KT BOOK REVIEWS

    SHANNON’S BOOK BLOG

    BIGREADERSITE’S BLOG

    GRANNY LOVES TO READ!

    SEPTEMBER 14

    SCANDALICIOUS BOOK REVIEWS

    ITCHING FOR BOOKS

    COMMUNITY BOOKSTOP

    BOOKS TO CURL UP WITH

    SEPTEMBER 15

    ROMANTIC READS AND SUCH

    SUSIEQLAW’S BLOG

    DEVILISHLY DELICIOUS BOOK REVIEWS

    BOOKFAN

     

    • Cover.Final.jpg
      1.7MB

 

MY REVIEW OF “THE CHESAPEAKE BRIDE’  A Novel by MARIAH STEWART

 

I enjoyed the charming and delightful novel, “The Chesapeake Bride” by Mariah Stewart. The genres for this novel are Romance and Women’s Fiction.

 

I love the way Mariah Stewart describes the charming setting and town on the Chesapeake Bay, in the Cannonball Island. The artistic feel of the houses, the restaurants, the hotel, and the stores are so appealing.  Whether you are clamming, or sailing on a ship, or just relaxing and having tea with home baked delicacies, there is a homey and comforting feel. The old homes are part of this Island, and have tremendous history.

 

The author describes her characters as complex and complicated. Some of the older seasoned characters have memories of the townsfolk that goes back many years. Cassidy Logan is an architect that is working for her father’s big company, and has plans to rebuild the falling down homes and use as much as she can of the materials in her new homes in this historic area. Cassidy wants to preserve the historic feel and preserve the previous family history.   Owen Parker, considered an adventurer and “player” is back at home by the Chesapeake Bay to help his one hundred years old grandmother, who runs the country store. Owen is also looking at the Chesapeake Bay for sunken ships found at the bottom, to determine the historical finds, and dive to retrieve many things.

 

Owen’s and the other divers have found enough to put a stop to Cassidy’s work temporarily. Cassidy has to find other alternatives to make this work.

There are a cast of colorful and quirky characters. Cassidy and Owen work closely professionally and sparks seem to fly.  On this small island, people are very hospitable.

 

I appreciate the way the author writes about the importance of family, friendships, loyalty, love and hope. There are some twists and turns and secrets in this novel. This novel is part of a series, but can stand alone.  I was captivated by the charm and story by the author and would highly recommend this book to readers who enjoy Romance and Fiction. I received a copy of this book for my honest review. This novel is part of a blog tour for Mariah Stewart.

5 comments on “THE CHESAPEAKE BRIDE by MARIAH STEWART BLOG TOUR! Lindas Book Obsession Review of “The Chesapeake Bride” by Mariah Stewart. SEPTEMBER 12,2017”

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: