My Review of “The Silver Shoes” by Jill G. Hall

No comments

IMG_3806My Review of “The Silver Shoes” by Jill G. Hall,  She Writes Press, June 19, 2018

“The Silver Shoes” by Jill G. Hall is an entertaining and enjoyable novel. The Genres for this novel are Fiction , Women’s Fiction and Historical Fiction.  The author describes two characters in different timelines, 1929, and the present. The author describes her characters as complex and complicated .

The two women in the novel are both searching for a sense of purpose, and something that will make them happy. These women come from different eras, and yet there are similarities and differences between them.

Clair Deveraux,  lives in a New York Hotel with her wealthy father. In 1929, Clair is a debutante, and is sheltered from many things. Clair becomes friendly with Winnie, a free- loving spirited young lady that works in Macy’s and goes to Speakeasies for dance and drink. Clair now sees a different side of life than she is used to and seems to be attracted by it.  When the Stockmarket crashes in 1929, Clair  tries to find a way and a path to help support her family.  Clair loves the silver shoes that she dances in.

Ninety years later we meet  Anne McFarland, an enterprising artist . Anne likes to dress differently, and seeks out clothing in second hand shoppes. She discovers a quaint store that has a gorgeous pair of silver shoes. The owner sells her the shoes, and tells her it is important to keep the box.   Anne discovers other items in the box, which lead her to look into the mystery. Anne has a cross-country romance with Sergio, her handsome boyfriend.  Anne wants a commitment from Sergio.

Both characters meet with betrayals, secrets and search for their way. How do the silver shoes connect these two women?  Do these women find the fulfillment and sense of purpose that they need and want?

I would recommend this novel to readers who enjoy Historical Fiction and Women’s Fiction. I received an ARC from NetGalley for my honest review.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

w

Connecting to %s